Embassy of Belgium in Australia
Home Travel to Belgium Visa for Belgium

Visa for Belgium


Mandatory form for travel to Belgium

All persons travelling to Belgium and all persons travelling through Belgium and who are staying at least 48 hours must fill out an identification form (Passenger Locator Form). You can find this form here.
The paper version of the Passenger Locator Form can be found on the homepage of: https://diplomatie.belgium.be/en under 'Travel to Belgium'.

Public consultation

The European Commission has decided to launch a public consultation on the perspective of digitalisation of the visa procedure (E-visa) and on the creation of an EU online visa application portal, aimed at a target audience: the travel industry, European agencies directly or indirectly linked to the EU visa policy, visa applicants and the general public. Read more...

NEWS 20.4.2021. Non essential travel permitted for residents of Australia and New Zealand

Non essential travel to Belgium is no longer prohibited for persons who hold residence in or citizenship of the European Union or Schengen area, or who reside in a country which is included on the EU White List. Australia and New Zealand are currently on the EU White List. 
For more information refer to: https://www.info-coronavirus.be/en/travels/

The Visa Section once again can accept visa applications for working holidays, retirement and other non essential travel purposes.

People who do not live in Australia or New Zealand can only travel if they have an essential reason. For more information refer to: https://www.info-coronavirus.be/en/travels-outside-eu-schengen/


Please check the official travel advice by the Australian and New Zealand governments since you are required to request and gain permission to leave Australia.

Both Australia and New Zealand have very strict conditions that have to be met for (re-)entry into their country. If you hold a temporary visa, or even a permanent visa, please check whether you are allowed re-entry into the country. Travellers coming back into Australia/New Zealand may have to go in quarantine for 2 weeks, at their own expense.

Be mindful that new Covid outbreaks can severely impact your travel, and that repatriation cannot be relied on in case commercial flights are cancelled or borders are closed.

Therefore the Embassy strongly recommends you consider all conditions on leaving and coming back to Australia or New Zealand before you decide to travel to Belgium.  It is your responsibility to ensure you meet all criteria imposed by Australia or New Zealand.

Useful links:

The Immigration Office in Brussels: https://dofi.ibz.be/en (website under construction)
Belgian travel advice and colour coded world map: https://diplomatie.belgium.be/en
Covid measures and restrictions in Belgium: https://www.info-coronavirus.be/en/faq/
On leaving Australia and getting permission to leave: https://covid19.homeaffairs.gov.au/leaving-australia
On coming back to Australia: https://covid19.homeaffairs.gov.au/coming-australia

SCHENGEN VISA short stay
Schengen Visa - Frequently Asked Questions

03.12.2019 Personal appearance in Canberra no longer required for long stay visa D applicants.

26.05.2021 Increase in contribution fee for visas lodged from 1 June. 

    Student Visa
    Exchange Student Visa
    Researcher Visa 
    Internship Visa
    Family Reunion Visa
    Professional Card
    Au pair Visa
    Single Permit - Work Visa
    Where your employer should apply for your work permit
    Working Holiday Visa Australians
    Working Holiday Visa New Zealanders

    Work and Holiday Visa for Luxembourg - Australians
    Work and Holiday Visa for Luxembourg - New Zealanders

    Long stay visa D application form (http://visaonweb.diplomatie.be)
    List Designated Doctors  
    Criminal History Check Australia
    Criminal History Check New Zealand
    Obtaining Documents info (Apostille)
    Contribution fee info
    Consular fees
    Payment options

    Information on the GDPR

    General Data Protection Regulation. Information to be provided to applicants concerning the processing of personal data in the Visa Information System (VIS) provided upon short stay visa applications
    Privacy statement. Processing of personal data in the context of a visa application